Hill House Nursing Homes
Hill House is the name of our first nursing home, which was founded by Inge and Dick Carey in Kenley in 1954. Westside, our second home, was opened close-by in Purley in 1968.
Today, the homes are managed by Inge & Dick’s daughters, Patricia and Gillian and their son-in-law David. Both trained nurses, Pat and Gill are proud to have taken forward the family business whilst maintaining the focus on both care excellence and residents’ enjoyment of life that had been so important since the start.
Comfort with care
Having always placed a great emphasis on our residents’ wellbeing whilst in our care, we are delighted to have been awarded Beacon status, the highest level in the Gold Standards Framework across both homes since 2009.
Our dedicated and highly-skilled team of matrons, qualified nurses, carers, caterers and domestic staff provide residents with 24-hour assistance and the highest level of care. We are totally confident in our staff’s abilities. In fact, founder Mrs Carey was a resident at Hill House during the final year of her life, and Gill’s mother-in-law has been a resident for the past two years, too. We like to call this the ‘Mum Test’!
We believe that the fact that our homes have remained family-run for the past sixty years has enabled us to develop and sustain a unique level of care for our residents and their families. We have often welcomed generations of the same family through our doors and are well-established within the local communities of Purley and Kenley, too.
Our latest Care Quality Commission inspection reports:
Both homes are registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to provide accommodation for those who require nursing or personal care and for the treatment of disease, disorder or injury. We have carried out structural improvements to ensure that we continue to meet the highest possible standard, both for the comfort of our residents and in order to stay in line with changing CQC requirements.